Broccoli Soup

Another rainy day special… Broccoli soup! This is a recipe that my moms friend, Peggy, taught us when I was in grade school. My elementary school had a garden and she taught us what we could make from our freshly grown produce. Broccoli soup only has five ingredients and it takes less than 30 minutes to make!

This is actually my boyfriends favorite meal. Even though it’s so simple, he can’t get enough of it! For those of you who think you don’t like soups that are so filled with… vegetables… try adding in some shredded pecorino (about a half cup). It’ll give the soup a bite that vegetables can’t give it. Plus, it’ll infuse a little of that “umami” taste.

20130909-231011.jpg

All I had to do was cut a head of broccoli, one large russet potato, and one leek(diced) and sauté in some olive oil in a pot for five minutes. Then I added 4 cups of chicken broth and a teaspoon of salt and pepper. I then covered the pot and cooked it at medium for about 15-20 minutes or until the veggies are tender but not overcooked.
I like my soup creamy, so when it was done cooking, I threw my soup into a blender and blended it until smooth!

This recipe makes three really big bowls of soup and it only has 131 calories per bowl!
Healthy, low calorie, fast and tasty!
Not much more you can ask for in a dinner!

Leave a Reply

