DAY 6: Lentil Soup

I was so busy yesterday that I forgot to post! This semester in school I’m taking two chemistry classes at the same time so my schedule is pretty hectic. But, I still managed to get a 91% on my first biochem test and a 98% on my first ochem test!
So, yesterday was day 6 of no gluten and I have to admit, I feel pretty great. I have energy and I’m able to concentrate more in class. I also get to still eat some tasty meals!
Last night I made vegetable lentil soup. I got the recipe from my mom and its pretty basic but completely delicious!

In a large pot, I cooked a tablespoon of olive oil with one yellow onion, 2 celery stalks and 2 carrots(all chopped, obviously. I cooked them for about 5 minutes and then I added 3/4 of a cup of lentils, 2 zucchini, two chopped Yukon gold potatoes a quart of chicken broth, plus more water to add enough liquid to make sure at least 3 inches of liquid covered the surface. Then I added 2 teaspoons of cumin, coriander, and dried basil with 1/3 cup of braggs liquid aminos and tamari. I then brought the mixture to a boil and reduced to a simmer. I then covered it and cooked the mixture on low for an hour and a half.
It’s so great to make on a cold fall night and this recipe makes at least 4 bowls worth!
Enjoy your gluten free meal!

20130925-082334.jpg

One thought on “DAY 6: Lentil Soup

Leave a Reply

