So many possibilities with a new year…

This post is a day late, but yesterday I was busy planning out exactly what I wanted from 2014. The start of a new year is a great time to reflect on the previous year: what you regret, what you are proud of, what you failed at, what you succeeded in, etc. I think it’s important to reflect on the previous year because you can learn not only from what you did right, but what you did wrong as well. My family and I have this ritual where we get together and write down our regrets on a piece of paper and then burn it. We are acknowledging that we weren’t perfect the last year and letting it go to move on to better things (and hopefully learning from those mistakes!). After we write down our regrets and burn them, we write down our goals for this next year. We separate our goals into 7 sections: financial, social, family, scholastic, career, health, and spiritual. After we have them all written down, we put them in an envelope and seal it off to open next new years.

Writing down your new years resolutions (or goals) helps you solidify in your mind that you are going to complete them. If you just tell yourself your resolution, it’s easy to conveniently “forget” that you resolved to lose 10 pounds when facing a mound of cookies. Writing them down makes it a little more official so that you are more likely to follow through!

Just because it’s January 2nd, it doesn’t mean that it’s too late to promise yourself some changes in your life. Write down some goals and get started on completing them! It’s a brand new year with so much potential. You deserve great changes in your life!

Some of my resolutions:

1. daily meditations, positive affirmations and journaling

2. reconnect with family members that I haven’t seen in a while

3. maintain a healthy diet and lifestyle (no matter how busy I am. No excuses!)

4. be more consistent in spreading the word (via my blog) about how to be healthy, happy and fit!

Those are some of my many resolutions for 2014! As part of my 4th resolution, this year I will be posting fitness, healthy cooking, positive affirmation/meditation and overall lifestyle videos along with my usual healthy healthy recipe posts. My goal is to spread all the information and knowledge that I have acquired to as many people as possible. If you like the videos or the recipes, let me know! If you have questions or want information on a specific topic/workout/recipe, comment on my blog and I will be more than happy to post a blog or vlog about it!

We all have the ability to be the happiest and healthiest us!

Happy 2014, friends!

Image

(I started my new year on a hike with my parents in the Santa Monica mountains!)

2 thoughts on “So many possibilities with a new year…

Leave a Reply

