Updated Cobb Salad

My dad is a huge fan of Cobb salads. I like the idea of Cobb salads but the traditional one is just way too heavy for me! The thick dressing, bacon, chicken, egg AND avocado combo along with everything else is just too heavy for my stomach. I decided to modify a Cobb salad to my lighter and healthier version. I swapped the bacon for an equally crunchy jicama, nixed the chicken for some chickpeas and switched the dressing to my lighter homemade dressing. Only about 360 calories for a large dinner serving!

20140224-195753.jpg

Updated Cobb Salad
360 calories
serves 1

Ingredients
1 hard boiled egg, chopped into bite sized pieces
1/4 avocado, sliced
1/2 cup chickpeas
1/4 cup chopped jicama
1 radish, thinly sliced
2 large handfuls of lettuce
1 1/2 teaspoons olive oil
1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 teaspoon lemon juice

1. Combine the first 6 ingredients into a large bowl (egg through lettuce).
2. In a small bowl, combine the olive oil, Dijon mustard, garlic clove and lemon juice and whisk until well combined.
3. Drizzle the dressing over the salad.

Enjoy your healthier version I the traditional Cobb salad!

2 thoughts on “Updated Cobb Salad

Leave a Reply

