Vegan Chili

This is a staple in my busy student life. I make a big batch of this and have enough for three days of dinners. It’s a great make-ahead dinner because it actually tastes better if it’s been sitting around for a few days in the fridge! I made it vegan mostly because I’m too lazy to add in any ground chicken or turkey, but you can definitely add that in if you prefer meat in your chili. I’ve made it with meat before and it tastes just as amazing. I just wanted to provide the vegan version for those who prefer no animal products.

Because it is plant based, my chili is rather low in calories for it being a main course. It only has 281 calories per serving and it will definitely fill you up and KEEP you full. This meal is filled with fiber, vitamins and minerals that your body needs to keep you healthy. Plus, it’s figure friendly for the quickly approaching summer season! Make it ahead on a Sunday and you’ll have enough to feed you through Tuesday!

Image

Vegan Chili

281 calories per serving

serves 3

Ingredients

1 15 oz can of kidney beans

1 15 oz can of black beans

1 15 oz can tomato sauce

1 teaspoon olive oil

1/4 cup onion, chopped

1 bell pepper, chopped

3 cloves of garlic, chopped

1 jalapeno, deseeded and chopped

2 teaspoons chili powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 teaspoon cumin powder

1. Drain the liquid from the can of black and kidney beans.

2. Pour the olive oil into a large pan and turn the heat to medium high. Add the onion, garlic, bell pepper, and jalapeno. Cook, stirring occasionally for 4 minutes.

3. Add the cans of beans, the tomato sauce, cayenne pepper, salt, cumin, and chili powder. Turn the heat down to medium low and cook for 20 minutes, uncovered. Stir every 5 minutes. After the 20 minute simmer, the chili is ready to eat! Just make sure to let it cool before you eat it!

I hope you enjoy the chili! Try it out and tag me in your pictures on Instagram (healthyfoodylifestyle) or Twitter (@AutumnBates21) so that I can see your creations!

4 thoughts on “Vegan Chili

  1. That looks pretty YUM!

    Also, I saw that you had listed jalapeno as one of your ingredients … I just want to say … USE gloves! I once made chili … did NOT use glove, rubbed my eye…and OWWWWWW

    Nevertheless … I think I will print this recipe out!

Leave a Reply

